EDCI 335 – Blog Post 3 – Inclusive Design

How will your interactive learning resource specifically ensure that the needs of all learners can be met?

Inclusive learning is something I am very passionate about. When I teach, I am sure to be aware of all of my learners and ensure that their needs are met. Universal Design for Learning (UDL) is a framework to improve and optimize teaching and learning for all people based on scientific insights into how humans learn. UDL is an approach to teaching and learning that gives all students equal opportunity to learn and be successful (Morin, 2021). Below I have attached a video that explains UDL in the classroom, the benefits, principles, how to incorporate UDL, and other useful suggestions.

One example of how I will use UDL in my future classrooms is in with reading. It is important to recognize that some students may need different supports when reading, and as a teacher I must do my best to support those needs. Some options I would have available to all learners in my future classroom for reading would be, print, digital, text-to-speech, buddy reading, and side-by-side reading.

Furthermore, I will be discussing how my groups interactive learning resource will that the needs of all learners will be met. As we have not completed our interactive learning resources, what I will be discussing next are all just ideas that I think will benefit all learners.

How we will ensure that the needs of all learners will be me:

  1. Different assignment options and variations
  2. Flexible work spaces for all students (silent areas, collaborative rooms, buddy work, etc)
  3. Regular feedback throughout different stages of assignment
  4. Lesson goals discussed prior and as a group
  5. Different variations of texts (digital, audio, print, etc)

(5 Examples of Universal Design for Learning in the Classroom, 2021)

I believe that these five ideas are a good starting point for my group. As we continue our assignment I am positive that we will come up with more ways to support each of our learners, but as of now these UDL approaches will benefit all students.

References:

5 Examples of Universal Design for Learning in the Classroom. (2021). Retrieved 24 October 2021, from https://www.readingrockets.org/article/5-examples-universal-design-learning-classroom

Morin, A. (2021). What Is Universal Design for Learning? | Understood – For learning and thinking differences. Understood.org. Retrieved 24 October 2021, from https://www.understood.org/articles/en/universal-design-for-learning-what-it-is-and-how-it-works.

2 thoughts on “EDCI 335 – Blog Post 3 – Inclusive Design

Leave a comment

Design a site like this with WordPress.com
Get started
search previous next tag category expand menu location phone mail time cart zoom edit close