Wow and Wonder Post #1

The article I will be referring to is ‘What is a Personalized Learning Network.’ You can find this article at this link: https://www.futurelearn.com/info/courses/learning-network-age/0/steps/24644

My wow for this topic refers to the video that is shown in this article. In this video, it is explained how nowadays people are born into a world of technology and are introduced to it basically as soon as they are born. This was very shocking to me, because I grew up as technology was starting to advance. I didn’t have my first cellphone until I was 13 years old, and I didn’t even have WIFI in my house until I was around 11 years old as well. It is crazy to me how so much has changed in the last decade.

I wonder if it would be considered a disadvantage to be introduced to technology at a later age? In the future, when I have my own children, I want to make an effort to have them introduced to technology later in life so they can enjoy the simple things like going outside, playing with friends, using their imagination, and so on. I don’t mean that I will be waiting until my children are 15 to introduce them to technology, but I would want to wait a few years after they are born. I know these “non-technology” activities would be very beneficial, but now I am wondering if not introducing my future children to technology as soon as they are born would put them behind other kids in that part of their life. This is something I will consider, but I still think I want to stick to my original plan as technology can be harmful at a young age.

References:

https://www.futurelearn.com/info/courses/learning-network-age/0/steps/24644

2 thoughts on “Wow and Wonder Post #1

Leave a comment

Design a site like this with WordPress.com
Get started
search previous next tag category expand menu location phone mail time cart zoom edit close