Topic #4 Discussion Post

In our final reading of this course, the authors Wiley & Hilton (2018) introduce us to the idea of OER-Enabled Pedagogy. Along with this concept, there is a test that is made up of four questions which allows us to determine if a specific teaching or learning practice can be considered a renewable assignment. 

What do you think of the test?

I think this test is very useful. I like that it only has four questions, this makes it quick and efficient to use. In the past, I have seen tests with similar intentions to this one but there are many more questions and I find that when there are more questions people are much less likely to use it, as it’s more time consuming. I believe that using this test would be a beneficial way to ensure that teachers are following open pedagogy and creating meaningful teaching and learning situations.

Do you have examples from your education that would pass all four parts?

One example that I think passes all for parts of this test would be the blog posts we must complete in this course (EDCI 339). I will show this by answering the questions of the test below.

  1. Are students able to create new artifacts (essay, poems, video, songs, ect) or revise/remix existing OER?

Yes, we have been creating new blog posts for every topic. Furthermore, we have also been given the opportunity to revise an existing blog post and use it for our final assignment.

  • 2. Does the new artifact have value beyond supporting the learning of its author?

Yes, the blogs are available for anyone to read, which also gives them the opportunity to hear my thoughts on whatever is being discussed during that topic. They then have the choice to educate themselves further, if they wish. We are also in learning pods for this course, and my group members read my posts which also allows further discussions. 

  • 3. Are students invited to publicly share their new artifacts or revised/remixed OER?

Yes, I was invited to share my blog posts on my WordPress site, which is available for anyone to see if they know my site name.

  • 4. Are students invited to openly license their new artifacts or revised/remixed OER?

Yes, my WordPress site is openly licensed.

If you are planning to become a teacher, will you aim to design tasks that pass all four parts? Why or why not?

I will definitely use this test in the future for certain assignments. I do not think it is realistic to pass all four components of this test with every learning task I give in the future, but being aware of it will be extremely beneficial to me. It will allow me to realize when I have not used a renewable learning assignment, and then when I notice this I will keep that in consideration for the next task to ensure I am mixing it up for my students.

Do any of the proposed research questions catch your attention? Do you have a hypothesis as to what the findings would be? Explain.

The proposed research question that catches my eye is, “Do students assigned to create, revise, or remix artifacts find these assignments more valuable, interesting, motivating, or rewarding than other forms of assessment?” In my opinion, I do believe that students would find this type of learning more interesting, motivating, and rewarding. I think this because this allows the learner to be in charge and lets them create an artifact they are proud of. They are then able to use what they create to educate others and from my own personal experience educating others on a topic you are passionate about is such an amazing opportunity and makes me feel excited. 

To me this photo represents the importance of meaningful learning.

References:

Wiley, D. & Hilton, J. (2018). Defining OER-enabled Pedagogy. International Review of Research in Open and Distance Learning, 19(4).

6 thoughts on “Topic #4 Discussion Post

  1. Hi Kayla,
    I agree with you as well that the test is short yet efficient which is more inviting then a test that has multiple questions. Teachers are extremely busy so something like this test makes it fast for them to check in on their lessons, tasks etc.
    I think I agree with you that in a classroom setting in would be hard to incorporate each component every time. I think as long as we are self-aware of what we are putting forward we can make the decision if the task is beneficial for the students.

    Great post!
    Hannah

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Hi Kayla,

    Thanks for your post this week! I like how you mentioned that the test isn’t necessary for every lesson or assignment you give. If it was, what a lot of work! I think this test will be super useful for when we want to incorporate an OER into our classroom, but we are unsure of whether or not it constitutes as one.

    I definitely agree with you in that students are more motivated when they produce an artifact they are proud of. And not only that, but a topic in which they can teach others about. I can recall getting so excited when I was able to share a project with my peers. Students will work so hard on something, so to be able to share with and teach others about their artifact is something so special.

    Thanks Kayla! 🙂

    Like

  3. Hi Kayla,
    I agree with your last point! With open topics, students can choose what they want to research about it. It is not a forced topic, therefore the student may be more engaged as the topic they chose will reflect them self. Also good example of the test. I think we all used wordpress and our blogs as an example. Is there any other times that you were asled to use OER-enabled pedagogy other that in EDCI classes? I have not.
    Thanks for sharing!

    Liked by 1 person

  4. Kiana Archibald August 23, 2021 — 4:42 pm

    Kayla,
    I agree with you on the test. I like how it’s concise and it really cleared up a grey area for me. Learning about renewable assignments has made me think about a lot of things. I considered my educational career from the perspective of being a student and all of the disposable assignments I have created. It has also made me think about my own teaching philosophy, and what kind of teacher I want to be. I hope to also incorporate OER enabled pedagogy where I can and to implement renewable assignments. I agree with you this type of pedagogy is so much more motivating and engaging. Students can learn so much from each other.
    Thanks for your post,
    Kiana

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a comment

Design a site like this with WordPress.com
Get started
search previous next tag category expand menu location phone mail time cart zoom edit close