Week 5- Tech

Thinking-and-Awareness.png

For this weeks blog I am going to discuss what I have learned so far while exploring mindful apps. During this process I have been researching a lot about mindfulness and it’s benefits in a classroom.  Mindfulness is great because it calms students down and gets them prepared to be focused for the rest of the day. Since I have been discovering apps for free online, I have realized how easy it could be to provide mindfulness activities in the classroom. There is no lack of resources, teachers just have to put in the effort to find what they are looking for.

I have done reviews on four apps so far. Only one of those apps did not work for me, and it only took me 2 minutes to figure that out. The other three apps I have explored have been wonderful, and they’re all free! It can be so simple to incorporate mindfulness into the classroom, and I hope that educators notice that.

mindful3-1.jpg

I think the picture I have attached above, is a fantastic representation of what mindful activities can do for you. If you’re ever feeling confused, or your brain feels over worked, a quick 10 minutes of mindfulness, can take those thoughts or feelings right away.

My favourite mindful application so far has been “Calm”. I still use Calm everyday for myself, and I have noticed a difference in the way I am able to focus in class. Usually in class I am easily distracted or I get extremely sleepy. But by doing a Calm activity right before class, I am able to focus for a longer amount of time. I would highly recommend using Calm in any classroom.

I know I will continue to learn more about mindfulness over the next few weeks. I am also excited to find more apps that will be beneficial in the classroom!

Leave a comment

Design a site like this with WordPress.com
Get started
search previous next tag category expand menu location phone mail time cart zoom edit close